Our Mission

Our Inspiration
Over the past years, two of our closest friends, Larry Ferachi and Joel Nasca, lost their battles with prostate cancer.  We have witnessed first-hand, the emotional and physical suffering this horrendous disease carries with it. Joel and Larry conducted extensive research and traveled the country participating in clinical trials.  They were most impressed with Dr. Oliver Sartor.
How the Money Will be Used

Dr. Oliver Sartor

Our primary beneficiary is Dr. Sartor – a world-renowned prostate cancer expert currently at Mayo Clinic   We feel it is important to continue in Joel & Larry’s quest to help Dr. Sartor, who has devoted his life to finding a cure.

Cancer Services

A portion of the proceeds will be donated to Cancer Services of Greater Baton Rouge for  grants to  prostrate cancers patients to help with their medical expenses.

Our Purpose

Our purpose is to increase awareness of the importance of early detection of prostate cancer as well as raising funds for research. We have raised over 1.5 million dollars over 12 years and have been instrumental in having LSU Blue gymnastic meets and baseball games.

Our Event

The Blue Ribbon Soirée is a fun-filled night with delicious food and beverages from nearly 20 vendors. It includes silent and live auctions, a raffle and a cork pull. Guests are encouraged to dress in blue. The 12th Annual Blue Ribbon Soiree will be held on Sunday, October 15, 2023 from 5:00-8:00pm at the Renaissance Hotel.
Our Future
We vow to stay passionate about this cause and ask you to join us.  Each year we hear of recent diagnoses with an increase in success stories. All efforts are devoted to our grandfathers, fathers, brothers, sons, grandsons, and friends who may one day be diagnosed with this disease.

We ask that you join us in our mission and support our annual Blue Ribbon Soirée.

Chair Committee

  • Kathy Lato
  • Ricky Lato
  • Janey Nasca

Committee Members

  • Jude Bernhard
  • Gretta Blankenship
  • Jason Bridges
  • Joleen Hays
  • Randy Hays
  • Jen Hebert
  • Janna Messina Kiefer
  • Heather Termini Lato
  • Ronnie Maranto
  • Kim Roccofort
  • Daniel Williams
Honorary Chairpersons

  • Coach D-D Breaux
  • Coach Jay Clark
  • Coach Paul Mainieri